Happy Retirement Pops!

So today marks my dad’s last day as the Newport Beach Fire Chief.  He is officially retired at close of business today!  It seems very surreal even to me, so I can’t imagine what it feels like for him!  My dad started his first day on the floor the day after I was born, so it’s pretty easy for me to figure out he’s been on the job 29 years.  My friends and I joke that I have the kind of dad that kind of ruined me for finding a husband because he’s so great it’s difficult to find someone to live up to the expectations he’s set for me (although I found Jeff who has met any of my expectations plus some).  He is seriously the best dad I can imagine and has influenced who I am in an amazing way.  He has integrity, character, work ethic, and the ability to be the biggest weirdo ever.  He’s basically Charles Ingalls.  Well Charles Ingalls from the TV show, not the book.  So happy retirement Chief Lewis!  In case you are wondering who made me the way I am just look at this picture taken at dinner last night:

oh and yes we are quite the fashionable pair…

2 responses to “Happy Retirement Pops!

  1. Crying… Congrats to your dad!

    • you are too cute. So exciting right? He’s at this moment wrestling with Simon…so I think he’s enjoying retirement.

Leave a Reply

